The following commercial reference values describe beer-filtration and dietary-supplement grades. They support grade comparison, not batch acceptance or a claim of compliance with every E551 standard. Agree the identity, limits and test methods in a signed specification, then verify the shipment COA.
Scroll the table horizontally on small screens to compare both grades and the confirmation requirements.
Swipe or use the keyboard to read all columns
Silicon dioxide — commercial reference specification, not batch COA| Field | Beer filtration grade* | Dietary supplement grade* | Buyer confirmation |
|---|
| SiO2 after ignition | ≥96% | ≥96% | Confirm assay and ignition methods |
|---|
| Loss on drying / ignition | ≤7% / ≤8.5% | ≤7% / ≤8.5% | State time, temperature and basis |
|---|
| Lead / arsenic | ≤5 / ≤3 mg/kg | ≤5 / ≤3 mg/kg | Compare with current destination and customer limits |
|---|
| “Heavy metals as Pb” | ≤30 mg/kg | ≤30 mg/kg | Aggregate test; not the individual lead result or a complete elemental panel |
|---|
| Soluble salts | ≤4% | ≤4% | Confirm method and ionic profile if critical |
|---|
| Bulk density | <0.3 g/mL | <0.3 g/mL | Clarify loose/tapped and conditioning |
|---|
| Surface area | ≥400 m²/g | 190–260 m²/g | BET method and degassing conditions |
|---|
| Oil absorption | Not stated | ≥2.0 mL/g | Liquid, endpoint, method and repeatability |
|---|
| Average particle size | 8–20 μm | 10–20 μm | Method and distribution missing; average alone is insufficient |
|---|
| Pore volume | 0.9–1.6 mL/g | Not stated | Method and pore-size distribution |
|---|
| pH | 4.5–9 | 6–8 | Slurry ratio, water and temperature |
|---|
| Iron | “25 mg/kg” | Not stated | 25 mg/kg has no acceptance comparator; agree maximum, typical value or range |
|---|
What the reference specification does not establish
The SiO2 assay is reported after ignition, not as elemental silicon or automatically on an as-received basis. Loss on drying and loss on ignition are separate tests; their temperatures, times and sample preparation need to be defined. The iron value “25 mg/kg” has no acceptance symbol. Obtain the approved methods, particle distribution and manufacturing-form declaration before qualification.
The listed lead limit is 5 mg/kg and arsenic limit is 3 mg/kg; these are commercial values, not a statement that every destination standard is met. Compare them using the extraction or digestion method required by your standard. The EFSA 2024 recommendations call for tighter lead, mercury and arsenic limits and an aluminium limit; a scientific recommendation is distinct from an enacted legal specification. Request mercury, aluminium and other customer-required results where applicable.
JECFA amorphous silica
CAS, INS identity and specification history; the record lists Monograph 20 (2017).
Review the JECFA recordEFSA 2024 review
SAS identity, manufacturing forms, particle characterization and impurity recommendations.
Review the EFSA summaryUS FDA / eCFR
Current US anticaking, beer-stabilizer and specified adsorbent conditions.
Review 21 CFR 172.480